New Landmine Marathon Album Coming

By Jeff Owens

October 15, 2009

Landmine Marathon: (from left) Ryan Butler, Matt Martinez, Grace Perry, Mike Pohlmeier and Dylan Thomas.
Photo by Jeremiah Cooper

Phoenix, Ariz., metallurgists Landmine Marathon have announced the early 2010 release of new album Sovereign Descent.

The album was recorded at LM guitarist Ryan Butler’s Arcane Digital Recording Studios in Chandler, Ariz., and features a cover by acclaimed artist Dan Seagrave, who has created cover art for acts including Entombed, Dismember, Morbid Angel, Suffocation and many others.

Landmine Marathon documented the recording of Sovereign Descent with video blogs that can be seen on the band’s website.

“We have put a lot of hard work into writing and recording this album,” the band said in a prepared statement. “We all agree that it is some of Landmine’s strongest material so far, both musically and lyrically. Ryan really went above and beyond with the recording and mixing process. We look forward to sharing some of the final results soon and, even more so, playing these songs live on the road.”

In other Landmine Marathon news, vocalist Grace Perry appears on the cover and insert poster of the December 2009 issue of Revolver, as part of the magazine’s “Hottest Chicks in Metal” issue.

Landmine Marathon consists of Butler, Perry and fellow guitarist Dylan Thomas, bassist Matt Martinez and drummer Mike Pohlmeier. The group’s sound has been compared to acts such as Bolt Thrower, Carcass and Napalm Death. Previous releases include Wounded and Rusted Eyes Awake.