Trivium Reveals Album Release Date

By Pauline France

June 23, 2011

Florida-based metal heavyweights Trivium will release their new album, In Waves,  on Aug. 9.

The band was ensconced in Florida’s Paint It Black studios earlier this year, cranking up the Colin Richardson and Martin “Ginge” Ford-produced album.

In Waves is preceded by their 2008 Shogun album, which gained them the sort of worldwide recognition  that led to sharing the stage with metal giants Iron Maiden, Slipknot and Metallica.

In a radio interview from summer 2010, Jackson-wielding Trivium guitarist Corey Beaulieu said that the forthcoming album would be deliberately conceived to not sound unlike anything they’ve released before.

“We’ve been concentrating more on more to-the-point, catchier songs without going off too much,” he explained. “There are no seven- or eight-minute songs on this one. There are a lot of really cool riffs and a lot of really cool parts and, obviously, there are guitar solos all over the place.”

According to frontman Matt Heafy, this album embodies  everything they’ve ever wanted to make.

In Waves to us… is TRIVIUM,” said Heafy on the band’s website. “In Waves is the music, the artwork, the videos and the live show; they are all part of an interconnected whole. There’s no question about it, in our eyes, that this is the most complete project we’ve ever done. We think we’ve finally made the record that we’ve always strived to make.”

The band will spend the summer touring with the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival, followed by two European album-release shows as special guests to Iron Maiden.

For details on their tour, click here.

Check out the new haunting video for the album’s title track.

In Waves track list:

1. Capsizing The Sea

2. In Waves

3. Inception Of The End

4. Watch The World Burn

5. Dusk Dismantled

6. Black

7. Built To Fall

8. Caustic Are the Ties That Bind

9. A Skyline’s Severance

10. Forsake Not the Dream

11. Chaos Reigns

12. Of All These Yesterdays

13. Leaving This World Behind

A two-disc special edition will also be available. It features five bonus tracks, plus a DVD with a 40-minute, behind-the-scenes documentary, as well as an exclusive concert filmed in a warehouse located in Orlando, Florida. This concert features the first performances of tracks from In Waves, along with Trivium classics.

In Waves special edition track listing:

1. Capsizing the Sea

2. In Waves

3. Inception of the End

4. Dusk Dismantled

5. Watch the World Burn

6. Black

7. A Skyline’s Severance

8. Ensnare the Sun*

9. Built To Fall

10. Caustic Are the Ties That Bind

11. Forsake Not the Dream

12. Drowning In Slow Motion*

13. A Grey So Dark*

14. Chaos Reigns

15. Of All These Yesterdays

16. Leaving This World Behind

17. Shattering The Skies Above*

18. Slave New World*

*Bonus tracks